Enter your Nevada historic landmark photo in national contest

The National Park Service is running its 2012 National Historic Landmark photo contest, with entries accepted through the park service’s photo contest Flickr site. Nevada has seven:


  • Fort Churchill in Lyon County
  • Fort Ruby in White Pine County
  • Hoover Dam in Clark County
  • Leonard Rockshelter in Pershing County
  • Nevada Northern Railway, East Ely Yards, in Ely
  • Francis G. Newlands home in Reno
  • Virginia City Historic District, Virginia City

Contestants can enter 10 photographs, but only one per National Historic Site, through the National Park Service’s Flickr site, Illustrated instructions on how to do this can be found at

(Above, Hoover Dam is one of Nevada’s National Historic Landmarks.)


  • Posted by Chris Moran on May 15th, 2012