The Lyon County Museum was envisioned during the local celebration of the United States Bicentennial in 1976. In 1978 the Lyon County Museum Society purchased the Seventh Day Adventist Church on Yerington’s Main Street. This building had been a Community Church in the town of Mason since 1911 and had been moved to Yerington in 1930. More space was soon needed for exhibits, and in 1980 the Annex was added thanks to a grant from the Max Fleischmann foundation.
Exhibits includes collections and displays of clothing, house wares, clocks, a barbershop, kitchen, bedroom, and Court House office in the Enide Johnson Gallery. A separate room contains pictures and displays from the Anaconda Copper Co. at Weed Heights, a major local industry from 1951 to 1978. The Gallery in the Annex exhibits works by local artists and changes every few months.
For more information about the Lyon County Museum, please contact us at 775-463-6576